Select Category
Sitemap Help Contact
print article

Re-image Your Server

Learn how to wipe your server clean of all data and perform a new operating system install on the server.

Please note:
All data and system settings will be destroyed by the re-image process. Please backup any vital data before initializing the re-image.

Step 1
Log in to the 1&1 Control Panel using your Customer ID OR domain name and your password.

If you have only one package, you will land on the Administration page. If you have more than one package, select the package in question to reach its Administration page.

Package Overview
Package Overview


Step 2
Click the Server Re-image link from the 1&1 Servers panel.
Click Server Re-image
Click Server Re-image

Step 3
In the text box, enter the root user password that should be set for the new operating system install. Next, choose the operating system image to install and click the Next button. Choose a password and select an operating system to install
Choose a password and select an operating system to install
Step 4
Read over the disclaimer on the page for more information and double-check the root user password entered to ensure it is correct. If no changes are necessary, click the Initialize button to begin the re-image. Click the Initialize button
Click the Initialize button
Step 5
You are informed the re-image is starting and the server should be available within 1-1.5 hours. Click the Go To Overview button to return to the administration section of the 1&1 Control Panel. Click the Go To Overview button
Click the Go To Overview button

For additional information, you may want to reference: